15 Minutes of Fame compositions premiere in Japan

A selection of pieces for MCC's 15 Minutes of Fame project, drawn from 1 minute piano works submitted by Malaysian and other ACL composers received its premiere at the international contemporary music festival in Kyoto, Japan end of May.

Pianist-composer Jessica Cho was invited to perform the works as part of the festival's programme at Kyoto University of Arts at its opening concert on 31 May, 2015.

The works performed in order of appearance:
    • State of Emergency - Peter Willis
    • Pulsating Waves - Amit Weiner
    • Titik Titik - Ainolnaim Azizol
    • Water Haiku - David Hamilton
    • Patak - Maria christine Muyco
    • Composition Nr 3 - Johan Othman
    • Hydropyre - Robert Casteels
    • Night - Jessica Cho
      Cho gave a thrilling performance of the works weaving all the pieces into a continuous narrative that did not seem as if it were composed by different hands spanning the Asia Pacific, and said she received a wonderful response from the audience.

      Certainly her powerful, sometimes aggresive, other times gentle and playful, and fluid way with the brand new scores made it sound as if the compositions have been in the standard repertoire for some time now, and they certainly deserve to be.

      Listen to Cho's superb performance, courtesy of the organisers: