CD Releases

With our mission of creating new initiatives and setting the trend, MCC has over the years produced two groundbreaking CD anthologies of Malaysian new music and the nation's first ever compreshensive collection of contemporary composers' piano scores.

From the comprehensive early survey of our composers in 2007 'Faith, Hope & Chaos', to the country's first CD of women composers 'Interweaves' in 2016, the projects cover a wide selection of the nation's foremost as well as budding composers, and spans a breadth of styles.

New recordings were also commissioned in the course of these projects, for example Johan Othman's Piano Composition No. 3 and Adeline Wong's string quartet Interweaves.

In addition to working with composers, these CDs also engaged the wider artistic community, for example in including Penang artist Susan Loone's work for the original cover of the Interweaves disc. For a copy of these discs write to acl.malaysia@gmail,com.

CD: Faith, Hope & Chaos (2007) 

The February 08, 2007 issue of Off The Edge magazine was packaged with a complimentary copy of the most comprehensive survey of Malaysian new music at the time. It is the very first such audiodocumentation of the nation's progress in the field of new music, featuring performances of Malaysian works from across the globe.

They include:
  • Nation Building for guitar and electronics - Hardesh Singh
  • Corak V for harp and cello - Tazul Tajuddin
  • 5 Letters From An Eastern Empire for cello - Adeline Wong
  • At The Funeral Pyre for guitar - Hardesh Singh
  • M's Doomed Wedding from M! The Opera - Saidah Rastam
  • Three Sketches for Two Pianos - Ng Chong Lim
  • Composition For Piano No. 8 - Johan Othman
  • Synclastic Illuminations for orchestra - Adeline Wong
  • Toccata from 3 KL Miniatures for String Quartet - CH Loh

CD: Interweaves' (2016)

Interweaves celebrates six works by women composers, and for this special occasion the cover art was commissioned from Penang woman artist Susan Loone.

  • Jessica Cho - Five Little Pieces for Piano
  • Adeline Wong - Interweaves for string quartet
  • Jyotsna Prakash - Sukhi
  • Isabella Pek - Jambatan Tamparuli for orchestra
  • Jessica Cho - Hypnagogic II for chamber ensemble
  • Adeline Wong - Chermin, excerpts from the film score

Score: Free Hand Anthology I (2019)

Undoubtedly the most broad survey of Malaysian new music to date, the scores published in this groundbreaking volume can be heard online via Fre Hand Anthology I's web player. You can enjoy the tracks on your computer, iPad or mobile phone.
  • Ainolnaim Azizol - Titik Titik
  • Jessica Cho - Five Little Pieces For Piano
  • Samuel Cho - Vatni
  • Choke Yuan Teng - The Woodcutter's Song
  • Chow Jun Yan - In the Absence of Silence
  • Chow Jun Yi - Deep in the City
  • Johan Othman - Three Bagatelles
  • Lee Chie Tsang - Sympathetic [re]sonance
  • C H Loh - Morning at Klang Harbour
  • Ng Chong Lim - Footprints ...
  • Raja Alif - Dol Said
  • Rayner Naili - Roh Bintang 
  • Ilysia Tan - Drive 
  • Tazul Tajuddin - Kabus Pantun 
  • Adeline Wong - Herringbone

Post a Comment